digital anavasi maps Share your maps of Crete. Post your GPS data of the island, waypoints, tracks and hiking routes. Geology and geography of Crete.

Frank

digital anavasi maps

by Frank » 29 Jan 2016, 12:05

I have purchased the Anavasi Sfakia area map as a digital KMZ file.
It works beautifully within google earth on my desktop, and I presumed it would work on my android devices too in the same way, but it doesn't, I get some kind of parsing error.

There seems to be some kind of incompatibility, but I have no idea of either cause or solution, as I have never used KMZ files before. (just purchased it presuming it would work)

So my question is: does anyone know any application or other way to display the KMZ Anavasi maps on android devices?

Erno
Site Admin

Re: digital anavasi maps

by Erno » 29 Jan 2016, 12:32

All the best,

Erno
webmaster Sfakia-Crete.com

Frank

by Frank » 29 Jan 2016, 13:23

That is what I tried, but the I get the "parsing error"

There seems to be an incompatibility between the map and the google earth android software, that does not exist when using google earth on a desktop computer.

rick

by rick » 30 Jan 2016, 09:54

Frank

by Frank » 30 Jan 2016, 12:50

Thanks Rick, but I already tried that, with no luck.
I'm waiting for a reply from Anavasi to see if they have a solution.
I might consider just getting the paper version instead.

Frank

by Frank » 07 Feb 2016, 11:46

I've had a reply from Penelope from Anavasi;
she has no idea why I get this error message but she'll try to find out.
She suggested try save the KMZ from Earth on my desktop and load that file instead, but this didn't make any difference.

I received the map as a .TIFF file from her to open in the android app "PDF maps".
That seems to work although I wonder how accurate location is; I compared coordinates of a fixed point with coordinates of other maps and it seems slightly off. I won't be able to tell accuracy until II can start using it on location.

Huck